Yvorra Leadership Development Foundation

Close this search box.

Texas HEAT

In June 2017, the Yvorra Leadership Development Foundation began a new scholarship named the Texas Hazardous Materials Education and Training Scholarship or simply TEXAS HEAT.

Texas Hazardous Materials Education and Training Scholarship

Texas HEAT provides one $2500 scholarship award, presented annually, to a Texas emergency response department, agency, or organization to allow two members of their hazardous materials response team to attend the IAFC Hazardous Materials Response Teams Conference. The application period is January 1st to February 28th of each year. The scholarship will be awarded, and the recipients notified, by March 31st of each year.

Qualified applicants must be an active career or volunteer member of an emergency services department, agency, or organization in the State of Texas, be a U.S. citizen currently residing in the State of Texas, and be a Texas Commission on Fire Protection (TCFP) certified Hazardous Materials Technician.

TEXAS H.E.A.T. Awards Committee

Larry D. Jantzen

Assistant Chief, (Committee Chairman)
Austin Fire Department, Austin, TX

Bobby Baker

Harry Evans

Assistant Fire Chief (retired)
Austin Fire Department, Austin, TX

Marty Herrin

Williamson County Hazardous Materials Response Team, TX

Glen Rudner

Decatur Texas

Awardees Are Selected on Five Broad Criteria

The Scholarship Committee reviews qualified applicants in March of each year and selects award recipients by letter ballot. Awardees are selected based on five broad criteria. These include:

Request an application and additional information via email at [email protected]

For a limited time, contributors making a donation of $100 or more to the TEXAS HEAT Scholarship Fund will receive a TX HEAT Challenge Coin.

Accepting the first donation for TEXAS HEAT, from left to right, Chris Hawley, (IAFC HazMat Conference Coordinator), Chief Bob Royall (IAFC Hazardous Materials Committee Chairman), Larry Jantzen (Assistant Chief, Austin, Texas Fire Department and Committee Chairman for TEXAS HEAT), and Mike Hildebrand, (President, Yvorra Leadership Development Foundation)